Home > Uncategorized > Nobel prize for physics goes to Higgs boson scientists

Nobel prize for physics goes to Higgs boson scientists

The Nobel prize in physics has been awarded to the scientists who predicted the existence of the  Higgs boson nearly 40 years ago.

Francois Englert and Peter Higgs were granted the coveted award this morning by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

They separately proposed, way back in 1964, that a particle we now know as the Higgs boson allows matter to acquire mass. The existence of that particle was confirmed in 2012 by scientists working at the CERN laboratory in Switzerland.


  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Lisa Rayner's Food & Garden Blog

I am a do-it-yourselfer. I have written how-to books on sustainable permaculture gardening, natural home canning, baking sourdough bread and solar cooking.

Capturing Grace

Trust, Faith and Change

The 70 at 70 Challenge

And so, I turned 70, and a new decade beckons....

The Last Ocean

Protecting the Ross Sea, Antarctica.


Encyclopedia of Earth on WordPress

National Geographic Education Blog

Bring the spirit of exploration to your classroom

Evolutionary Biology

No foresight, no way back

Wander Woman Thea

Taste, Travel, Tell

%d bloggers like this: